Special Recognition

Special Recognition
Presented to persons & organizations whose contributions are far-reaching & of a special nature

2015 Honoree
Dr. Mary Kay Switzer
Banning, CA

Mary Kay SwitzerMary Kay Switzer founded A Repertory Theatre (ART) 10 years ago. The mission statement of this community theatre group requires all plays be done as fundraisers for charities and other worthwhile causes; and that mission has been followed throughout the group's history. The current charity benefiting from the theatrical efforts of ART is California’s Orange County and Inland Empire Make A Wish Foundation. A published award-winning author and Artistic Director of ART, Dr. Switzer directs and often writes the plays. ART, currently operating out of facilities provided by the Highland Springs Resort, has become a feature of the Banning community for using theatre to benefit society.

2015 Honoree
Greater Grand Forks Community Theatre
Grand Forks, ND

Greater Grand Forks Community TheatreGreater Grand Forks Community Theatre does what other community theatres do, bringing amateur theatre artists together to create live theatre for their community. However, the GGFCT goes a step above. For the last four years, the GGFCT has found ways to open dialogue with community members about issues that pertain to the Greater Grand Forks area. In 2012 the theatre employed a playwright to go into the seventh and eighth grade English classes at the Grand Forks Air Force Base and engage students in writing material that became a play, Deployed, about their parents’ deployments to Iraq and Afghanistan. Other projects have involved a monologue writing workshop for girls and women ages 9 - 55, and having girls ages 11 - 17 interview women over the age of 70 about their lives. The stories, snippets of history, were performed multiple times for various groups in the area. In addition to a regular season including shows specifically chosen to encourage discussions of topical issues, GGFCT is also creating new theatre woven from the very fabric of their community.

Previous Recipients

1996  A. R. Gurney
1997  International Thespian Society
1998  Studio de Monaco - World Festival of Amateur Theatre
          Dundalk (Ireland) International Maytime Festival
          Toyama (Japan) International Theatre Festival
1999  Stephen Peithman (Davis, CA)
2000  Kurt Majkowski (Eau Claire, WI)
2001  1st Battalion, 79th Field Artillery
          (Fort Sill, Lawton, OK)
2002  Frank Peot (Sun Prairie, WI)
2003  Vilseck Bavarian Arts Guild (Vilseck, Germany)
2004  Patty Duke (Northern ID)
2005  Kathie Maldonado (Hobbs, NM)

2005  Kathie Maldonado (Hobbs, NM)
2007  Angela L. Ardolino (Miami, FL)
2008  Victoria L. Hanrahan (Ansbach, Germany)
2009  Robert G. Anderson (Starkville, MS)
          John Kollack (Clarkesville, GA)
2010  Dan LaMorte (US Army, Europe)
2011  L. Ross Rowland (Muncie, IN)
2012  Merrie Dawkins (Rockingham, NC)
2013  Michael Fenlason (Tucson, AZ)
          Jan Mitchell (Menifee, KY)
2014  Wil Breden (Wellesley, MA)
          Twink Lynch (Topeka, KS)
          Kirk Players (Mundelein, IL)



Authorize.Net Merchant - Click to Verify Credit Card Merchant Services